Site Map Links FAQ's Membership Rotary D7150 Rotary About Us Make Up Sigh-In Home

New RI Zone Structure: RI Board Decision 94, January 2017




RI Board Decision 94, January 2017

RI Board adopts new zone structure


At its January 2017 meeting, the Rotary International Board of Directors adopted a new zone structure for Rotary clubs.
Rotary bylaws require the Board to complete a comprehensive review of the 34 Rotary zones no less often than every eight years to ensure that each zone has an approximately equal number of Rotarians. The Board’s previous review of the zones occurred in 2008.
The Board earlier approved the creation of three regional workgroups to develop rezoning proposals for Asia, Europe/Africa, and the Americas. These workgroups comprised one representative (either a current director, incoming director, or immediate past director) from each zone in the region. The regional workgroups submitted their proposals to the Zones Review Committee, chaired by past Rotary Vice President Michael K. McGovern, which consolidated them into a single, worldwide plan for the Board’s consideration. 
“I think the regional workgroups did a great job,” says Rotary President John F. Germ. “Rezoning is always an emotional subject for some Rotarians, but the workgroups and Board acted courageously in an effort to be fair to all concerned.”
The Board will consider other zone-related issues such as sectioning, pairing, and director election rotation at its June 2017 meeting

New RI Zone Structure: RI Board Decision 94, January 2017

1 Bangladesh, Indonesia, Japan (northern), Pakistan
2 Guam, Japan (central), Micronesia, Northern Marianas, Palau
3 Japan (southern)
4 India (western and northern)
5 India (southern), Maldives, Sri Lanka
6 Bhutan, India (eastern), Nepal
7 India (central and southern)
8 Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
9 China, Hong Kong, Macau, Mongolia, Taiwan
10 Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand
11 South Korea (northern)
12 South Korea (southern)
13 Andorra, Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Monaco
14 Italy, Malta, San Marino
15 Germany (northern and central)
16 Germany (southern), Israel, Switzerland
17 Aland Islands, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Russia (western), Sweden (northern)
18 Denmark, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Sweden (southern)
19 England (northern), Ireland, Isle of Man, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
20 England (southern), Portugal, Spain, The Netherlands
21 Austria, Eastern Europe, Middle East
22 Africa
23 Central America, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Mexico, USA (TX), Venezuela
24 Brazil (central and northern)
25 Antarctica, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil (southern), Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay
26 Canada, Russia (eastern), St. Pierre & Miquelon, USA (AK, ME, MI, NY, WA)
27 USA (CA, CO, ID, MT, NE, NV, OR, UT, WA, WY)
28 USA (AZ, CA, CO, HI, NM, NV, TX)
29 USA (IA, IL, KS, MI, MN, ND, NE, OK, SD, WI)
30 USA (AL, IN, KY, MS, OH, TN)
31 USA (AR, IL, KS, LA, MO, MS, OK, TN, TX)
32 Bermuda, Canada, USA (CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT)
33 USA (D.C., DE, MD, NC, PA, SC, TN, VA, WV)
34 The Caribbean, French Guiana, Guyana, Puerto Rico, Suriname, USA (FL, GA, SC)

* Zone numbers subject to change; sectioning and pairings to be approved by the RI Board at its June 2017 meeting.

Share your ideas in approximately 100 words on New RI Zone Structure: RI Board Decision 94, January 2017 - earn a Make-up

Copyright 2003-04 Rotary eClub NY1 * Updated 2017
Design & Maintenance of this site by TechnoTouch e-Strategists


To Top
To top


Site Map